Who will take the 2021 ICC men's T20World Cup?

Who will take the 2021 ICC men's T20World Cup?

This is branded content.

Beginning back in 2007, ICC World Twenty20 matches have kept both worldwide and local cricket club audiences captivated around the world.

This short and action-packed version has held a worldwide audience due to the almost flamboyant nature, compared to the other formats in which the game is played.

Let's dig into the who's who of potential T20 contenders for this year, and which team is most likely to take the top prize.

Below are the most likely contenders for the 2021 ICC T20 World Cup with a few thoughts on the best picks to take the win.


Be it an ODI or a test match, Australia has been a powerhouse in international cricket, producing legends since day dot and T20 has not dwindled that reputation.

Although they have yet to secure a championship, the closest they have come to ultimate victory was coming in second to England in the 2010 T20 Cup in the West Indies.

Does Australia have what it takes to win the cup this time around? Only time will tell, but with the likes of batsman David Warner and spin bowler Adam Zampa, and being headed by confirmed T20 captain Aaron Finch, they are definitely strong contenders.


These world-class players have always been among the best of the best, and the T20 tournament has further solidified that, seeing India winning the first T20 World Cup in 2007.

With the change in the host country for the upcoming World Cup, India's odds have increased as a potential victor in the 2021 T20 tournament.

This year, they are playing on home soil, and with world class athletes like Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma, there is no reason not to think that India isn't a forerunner for the main prize.


Taking the cup by seven wickets over Australia in Bridgetown in 2010 certainly inspired the English team, but the English have yet to secure another T20 World Cup.

After losing the championship to the West Indies in 2016, you know they are hungry for another T20 win. The English team that has qualified for the 2021 Cup is likely to be as formidable as ever.

The team has suffered some recent injuries, but it looks like England will push on with a quality T20 show this year.

West Indies

The current ICC T20 World Champions have two titles under their belt and are well placed for yet another victory this year.

The West Indies have always been a top-tier team with legendary players in all forms of the game over the years. This year's T20 World Cup tournament is no different.

T20 veteran Kieron Pollard heads a formidable team, including the likes of legendary all-rounder Chris Gayle and top T20 bowler Sunil Narine.

The other teams are really going to have to step up their game if they want to be any sort of threat to the Men in Maroon.


Runners up in 2007 and World Champions in 2009, the Pakistanis are no strangers to success on the ICC T20 World Cup stage.

Having conceded just two wickets during the 2009 T20 World cup, Pakistan beat Sri Lanka soundly by eight wickets.

The Pakistanis have not had as much luck on their last two outings, however, after being eliminated in the Super 10 rounds in 2014 and 2016, they are ready to fight back in 2021, especially with T20 veteran Babar Azam leading the squad.

Sri Lanka

With reappointed captain Dasun Shanaka, who captained the T20 squad when they won the Cup back in 2014, you can tell that this is the year the Sri Lankans are pushing to get back to winning ways.

Sri Lanka has spent time introducing new players who are more suited to the shorter format of the game according to their captain, and they have been collecting wins in the T20 arena with the new lineup.

The new blood in the team may just give the Sri Lankans the winning edge they have been lacking.

Commencing the delayed tournament in 2021

Originally, the T20 tournament for 2020 was set to be hosted in Australia but has since been delayed, with the location changing to India.

The long-awaited ICC Twenty20 World Cup is now set to commence in India in October 2021, though the precise venues for each game are yet to be determined.

Will the West Indies continue their winning streak and take the 2021 World Cup?

The change in location may be the thing that gives the India team the home advantage they need to take the win, though Sri Lanka's team changes and their recent successes certainly make them the dark horses in this year's competition.