Replay SA's 2021 Australian of the Year awards ceremony

Sixteen nominees have been shortlisted for South Australia's 2021 Australian of the Year Awards. The event will be live-streamed on ACM websites on Monday.
Sixteen nominees have been shortlisted for South Australia's 2021 Australian of the Year Awards. The event will be live-streamed on ACM websites on Monday.

Here's your chance to relay South Australia's 2021 Australian of the Year ceremony.

Pay homage to the 16 South Australians who were finalists in the four categories - SA Local Hero, Young Australian of the Year, Senior Australian or Australian of the Year for 2021.

Included are advocates for disability, road safety and the vision-impaired, an Indigenous artist and cultural leader, the state's chief medical officer, a woman helping keep pets and families safe from domestic violence and the first Indigenous person on the AFL executive.

The ceremony was held at Adelaide Oval, hosted by ABC Adelaide breakfast presenter Ali Clarke.

The award recipients in each category will then join other state and territory winners as finalists in the annual national Australian of the Year Awards announcement on January 25, 2021.

South Australia's 2020 Australian of the Year, eye surgeon and co-founder of eye health charity Sight For All Dr James Muecke, went on to receive the national honour.

Premier Steven Marshall said the awards gave the South Australian community the opportunity to acknowledge and celebrate people who had made a significant contribution to the state.

"The strength of our state heavily relies on our citizens and it is inspirational to see these leaders within our community sharing their time, knowledge and expertise to benefit others." Mr Marshall said.

"Every nomination is worthy of our admiration and recognition."

State Governor Hieu Van Le AC said this year had been challenging.

"South Australians have risen to the occasion and our state remains one of the safest places to be in the world," he said.

"This is a solid testament to the strong community spirit here. We believe in the common good, look after one another and pursue excellence in everything we do. The nominees exemplify these ideals.

"They are an inspiration to us all."

Chair of the Australia Day Council of SA Peter Tsokas the 128 people nation-wide who progressed to the state nominee phase of the awards represented "Australia's finest".

The 16 SA nominees represented "the best of South Australia", he said.

2021 South Australian finalists

Australian of the Year - sponsored by Australia Post

The nominees: Tanya Hosch, the first Indigenous person and second woman appointed to the AFL executive; Jennifer Howard, CEO and founder of Safe Pets Safe Families; Dr Joy O'Hazy, initiator of Birthing Kits; and Professor Nicola Spurrier, paediatrician and SA Chief Public Health Officer.

Senior Australian of the Year - sponsored by the Department of Health

The nominees: disability advocate Professor Richard Bruggeman; mycologist Pamela Catcheside; artist and Anangu cultural leader Peter Mungkuri; and advocate for the vision impaired Dr David Squirrell.

Young Australian of the Year

The nominees: businesswoman and migrant activist Alicia Beik; social entrepreneur Isobel Marshall; founder and director of Lift Up Voices Tori Marshall; and road safety advocate Holly Scott.

SA Local Hero - sponsored by the Department of Home Affairs

The nominees: respectful relationships advocate and former AFL footballer Russell Ebert; University of Adelaide Kaurna Cultural Advisor Rodney O'Brien; president of the Goodwood Saints Football Club Craig Scott; and CEO and founder of Puddle Jumpers Inc Melanie Tate.

You can read more about each of the nominees and their efforts and achievements here.

Monday night's live-stream of the awards ceremony will be visible on the following local news websites across South Australia: