Nosey Parker: From the 1956 archives

1973: Softball best and fairest winners for the 1972/73 season were awarded. See names of people pictured in Nosey, below.
1973: Softball best and fairest winners for the 1972/73 season were awarded. See names of people pictured in Nosey, below.

Memorial windows were dedicated at the Napperby Congregational Church. Three lead-light panels honoured Mr and Mrs E.T Franks, Mr L.C Pearce and Mrs A.S Maeers.

The Recorder 12-hour Reliability Trial conducted over 300 miles was won by Allan Melville, of Whyalla, who drove a 1956 Volkswagen. A special prize was given to Tom Bentley who drove a 1923 Buckboard.

Port Pirie Progress Association was formed. A crowd of 120 attended. The following formed the committee: H.E Coombe, L Maynard, M.M Bishop, C.P Prest, H.J Miller, C.E Thomas, L.C Hoare, E.A Parr, R.G Lambert, L Aa, W.K Francis, A.T Maddox.

Peters Ice Cream opened a branch in Port Pirie run by Mr R Sampson. He would operate from 375 The Terrace.

'Fitting memorial to the fallen.' The state president of the RSL opened a new clubroom in Mary Elie Street.

Miss Judith Rowe, 16, won the Miss Picnic Quest. The Picnic Frocking Quest was won by Miss Louise Spillman.

Douglas Underwood opened a pharmacy on Main Road, Solomontown.

A miniature deb ball was held by the Sisters of Good Samaritan. The debs and partners were: Maureen Harrington - Clayton Everette, Patricia Barry - Tony Ley, Catherine McMahon - Ian Dowler, Cheryl Row - John Malycha, Lena Pansini - Ronald Jones, Anne Shearwin - John Robinson, Dianne Solomon - Michael Nickels, Susan Sheridan - Michael Daly, Kerry Flanagan - David Johnson, Anne Lemm - Bruce Hanisch, Lynette Walladge - Michael Quinn, Deanne Everette - John Ward, Carol Rontaunay - Roger Raftery, Monica Zubrinich - Francis Sampson, Shaylene Culpin - Bill Goold, Katherine McBride - Gerald McBride, Cheryl Thompson - Kerry Backstrom, Josephine Dwyer - Kerry Johns, Helen Smith - Bill Willsdon, Joan Gabell - Phillip Sayner, Jillian Collins - Des Ley, Mary Stroud - Kevin Murphy.

Arthur Pickering opened a garage and petrol station on the corner of Three Chain Road and Balmoral Road.

Nosey Parker ... with Des Parker OAM.

Nosey Parker ... with Des Parker OAM.

Sharples Printers Ltd opened a new book store. They had a 24-hour service to repair fountain pens.

St Paul's deb ball. The debs and partners were: Rhonda Cheesman - Ron Millbank, Cynthia Bronnick - Ray Warner, Elaine Smith - Garry Francis, Barbara Grocke - Peter Murphy, Shirley Agnew - Les Turner, Coral Calvert - Glen Pasche, Roma Glasson - Colin Swearse.

A Central Hotel syndicate won 14,000 pounds in the State Lottery. The winners were: Howard and Joyce West, William Grantham, Brian Ward, Dawn Davidson, Claude Worby, William Millard, Tom Millan, William Jones.

A women's softball association was formed. The committee that had been elected were Mr L Russell (patron), Miss J Herman (president), E Malycha, F Axon, P Zubrinich (vice presidents), E.H Tavener (secretary), Mr W Miller (auditor). The softball association consisted of 14 teams: Proprietary (2), High School (2), YMCA (2), St Anthony's (2), Tryan (1), Blue Wren (2), St Andrew's (3).

Airport pool for Port Pirie swimmers. The Department of Civil Aviation approved an application by BHAS Amateur Swimming Club to take over and renovate the swimming pool at the Port Pirie Airport formerly used by servicemen when the area was a war-time RAAF station.

Merv Wood opened a new service station on the corner of The Terrace and Broadway Road.

Mrs C.A Commons reached her 102nd birthday. She lived on a farm at Mambray Creek for 73 years and later in life moved into Port Pirie and lived on Goode Road.


Pictured were Shirley Pearce, left, Kerry Tiller, Angela Warnock, Tanya Tomlinson, Vicki Tomlinson, Marrienne Spielhagen, Rosalie Broadfoot, Trudy McMahon, Lisa May and Margaret Champion.