More riders contest motocross carnival in Pirie

Sensational racing and a fantastic solo effort in the King of the Gulf ... the Port Pirie Easter Motocross was "one of the best".

More than 200 bikes were entered for the carnival on Saturday and Sunday at the Port Broughton Road track.

Riders nudged handlebars and lent on each other in an amazing display of competition, but the high point was the King of the Gulf contested in four heats.

Minlaton's Jett Anderson won the first two heats, but fell in the third after an "incident".

From being almost last on the final lap, he worked his way to second as the flag fell, keeping alive his hopes of the title.

He then won the fourth heat to amass the highest aggregate points to take the $1500 prize.

"Some of the passing maneouves that Jett pulled were fantastic," said veteran rider and Port Pirie Motor Cycle Club official David Footner.

"He had not raced for a year or two, but is rated as an Expert."

Another Expert or A grader attended from Darwin for the King race while at least half-a-dozen families attended from Alice Springs.

Other riders came from Broken Hill, Perth, Mildura, Mount Gambier, the West Coast and Adelaide.

About 800 spectators attended on Saturday and 1000 on Sunday when rain fell making the track slippery, but manageable.

"It was a fantastic weekend ... probably one of our best Easter programs ... everything went smoothly," Footner said.

As expected, there were a few mishaps on the track including one rider suffering a broken collarbone and another concussion.

The Prince of the Gulf was won by Jack Colbert, of the Riverland, while the Classic King of the Gulf was taken by Joshua Knights, of Mildura.

Local stars included Jett Dunstall, son of Josh, with third in the 50cc Auto. Other events with locals doing well were the Classic Pre-1978 All Powers, second Guy Walsh; Classic Pre-1990 All Powers, third David Footner; Classic Pre-1995 All Powers, third Duane Woolford; Classic King of the Gulf, second David Footner.

Steph Cutler, of Port Augusta, won the SA Women's Cup. Local riders - Clubman Open, third Duane Woolford; Clubman Feature, third Duane Woolford; SA Womans Cup, fourth Kara Footner.

Photos: Page 19