Des 'Nosey' Parker investigates the year that was 1967

TALENT: St Andrews Stuarts A1 side on April 30, 1973.
TALENT: St Andrews Stuarts A1 side on April 30, 1973.

The Debutante of the Year was won by Miss Janice Lines and was chosen at the Orpirane Ball.

Solomontown junction was pulled down. The junction was opened on July 26 1937, when the Trans-Australian railway line was extended to Port Pirie from Port Augusta.

Pirie East school wins the Broughton Plains combined sports day at Crystal Brook. The Pirie East school captains were Wayne Young, Margaret Budd, Garry Benton, Heather Johns and Christopher Keane.

Grand opening of Jack the Price Slasher supermarket in Florence Street.

Prefects elected at Port Pirie High School: Girls –  Susan Farrell, Kaye Munn, Dorothy Poulton, Lois Thompson, Patricia Tunney, Jennifer Underwood, Jan Wood and Heather Telford. Boys – Mark Caddy, Warwick Heine, Trevor Key, David Pritchard, Gregory Pritchard, Darryl Seyfang, Gary Smith, Allan Swinburne and Garry McDonald.

10 bathing beauties enter Miss Pool Contest. They are Beth Price, Margaret Smits, Jill Walters, Mary Clarke, Sandra Hutchinson, Jill Bollmeyer, Linda Wilton, Lynette Holt, Dianne Greenwood and Judy Matters. The winner was Lynette Holt.

Church of England Parish Debs were, with partners, Judith Benn-Stephen Rohrsheim, Julie Young-Rodney Warne, Janice Lines-Trevor Chandler, Leonore Dedear-Geoff Harvey, Gloria Cheesman-Dean Cheesman, Kathy Hinks-Andrian Lawrie, Denise Hazell-Ian Birnie, Paula Clarke-Trevor Key, Annette Leverington-John Bailey, Geraldine Harmer-Bryant Chivell.

Postmen become mechanised when the Port Pirie post office used motorcycles for delivery in the Pirie south and Risdon Park area.

The Innocents band takes out the heat of the nation-wide Battle of the Sounds contest. The members of the band were Barry Swan (rhythm guitar), David Wiskar (lead vocal), Eddie Boath (lead guitar), Lindsay Masters (bass guitar), Kevin Lavis (electronic organ) and Gordon Waters (drums).

Formation of the Port Pirie Y.M.C.A Association. The president G. Mannix, secretary T. Cheesman, chairman B. Warner. Other members of the committee were R. Adams, J. Wood, K. Huckwell and D. Wiskar.

After a long association with the Port Pirie Football League and Solomontown Football Club, Stan Harvey will leave to live in Perth. Stan came to Port Pirie in 1942 as a member of the R.A.A.F.

Junior Ideal Beach Girl Quest was won by Desley Culpin, 2nd Sharmain Piggot, 3rd Margaret Lemm.

Port Football Club officially opens its new oval with a match between the club and West Torrens Football Club. The club officials were patron L. Bourke, president Mr L. Stanley, chairman Mr B. O’Loughlin, secretary Mr K. Brady, assistant secretary Mr J. Keough, treasurer Mr P. O’Loughlin.

Winners of Miss Industries and Commerce Quest were Miss Julie Betts, 2nd Miss Pam Milburn and Miss Lyn Reichstein.

A Port Pirie branch of the National Trust of South Australia was formed. The foundation chairman was Bronte Cook with Nancy and Ian Wood filling the secretary and treasurer duties.

Proprietary Football Club’s new clubrooms were opened by one of its oldest members, president Ern Scott.

Port Pirie gets two lottery agencies. They are Kinnear’s Newsagency Ellen Street and A.R and A.J Duthie Newsagency Solomontown.

Airdale School names houses after V.C winners R.R Inwood 1917, Brig Blackburn 1916, H.D. Gosgrove 1917 and J.C. Jenson 1917.


HOCKEY … St Andrews Stuarts A1 side on April 30, 1973. Back row: Janice Donaldson, Maureen McCombe, Pauline O’Loughlin, Ev Tavener, Dot Williams and Bev Argent. Front row, Sandra O’Brien, Jill Lock, Paula Bairstow and Cathy Savage.